What is the Purpose of the Texas Parent Taught Driver Education Course?

This information below applies to:

Getting your license for the first time is an exciting moment. However, it can also be a moment of uncertainty. Which course should you take? What are the steps to get your license? How long will it take before you have your license in hand?

Don’t worry! Here at the National Highway Safety Administration, we’re with you every step of the way.

Who should take the Texas Parent Taught Driver Education Course?

If you’re under the age of 18 and live in Texas, our Texas Parent Taught Driver Education Course (PTDE) is just what you need! The online instruction part of this course, which lasts 32 hours, is complemented by behind-the-wheel training done by your parent or a legal guardian. If you’d prefer to have a professional instructor from a local driving school, take a look at our Instructor Taught Driver Education Course.

But first, let’s get the big question out of the way – why should you take a driver education course? There’s an easy answer to that one. In Texas, all teens under the age of 18 have to take a driver education course that is approved by the state.

However, don’t fear – we make it easy to take the course. We offer an experience that is 100% online. So those hours will fly by as you study in the comfort of your home or any other place you choose. And you can study for as long as you want or as little as you want in each session.

So if you’re between the ages of 14-17 you can take this Texas Parent Taught Driver Education Course. And since our course is 100% approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, you can be sure you're getting a quality education.

What will you learn in the Texas Parent Taught Driver Education Course?

This dynamic course is 32 hours long. We don’t decide the length of the course; the state of Texas sets how long it should be so that you can learn all you need to know about driving.

And this is positive for you. No doubt you want to be a safe driver. And the right driver education course will help you to meet that goal. As a teen new, to the experience of driving, you’ll get all the information you need to be the most responsible driver possible.

You’ll learn about traffic laws, get safe driving tips, and discover what’s expected of you as a driver. The course will show you how to remain alert and aware on the road. All of that adds up to a safer driving experience for you, and fewer unpleasant surprises on the road.

Additionally, you’ll learn practical driving skills that will keep you safe in a variety of driving situations. For instance, if you are quick to recognize traffic signs and signals, you’ll be better prepared to react quickly in a variety of situations. And you’ll learn what to do if there’s a hazard or emergency on the road.

In order to be a fully trained driver, the state of Texas requires that you complete 32 hours of behind-the-wheel training, 10 of which must be done at night. As you can see, by the time you finish this course, and the behind-the-wheel training, you will almost be an expert driver.

How does this Texas Parent Taught Driver Education Course help you get your learner permit?

This course prepares you with all the information you need to apply for your learner permit. Our short, easy to understand chapters and entertaining videos and animations make learning a breeze. Study in your free time or whenever it’s convenient for you. You can stop wherever you want and come back to the course material easily – we’ll even save your place for you. That kind of flexibility means you don’t miss out on any of life’s fun moments.

At the end of this course you will take the final exam, and after you pass it you’ll be able to apply for your learner permit. Remember that to be able to apply for your learner permit you must be between 15 and 17 years old. You can apply for your learner permit after you complete all 12 modules of the course. You can receive your permit at the local DPS office. You’ll need to take your Texas Parent Taught Driver Education Course completion certificate with you, so don’t leave it at home.

How does this Texas Parent Taught Driver Education Course help you get your driver license?

Once you have your permit, you can start to put in the required hours behind the wheel. Additionally, you’ll need to spend at least 32 hours driving under the supervision of an adult, and at least 10 of those hours have to take place at night. Those hours in the driver’s seat will give you the chance to put all you learned in the course into practice.

Keep in mind that all students who take either the Parent Taught Drivers Education Course or the Instructor Taught Drivers Education Course must also take the Impact Texas Teen Drivers (ITTD) Program. This free program is two hours long and is completed online. After you view it you will receive a certificate. Don’t forget to take it with you to the DPS when you go to take your driving test.

When you’ve finished your behind-the-wheel training it will be time for the final and most exciting step: the driving exam. If you’re 16 years old or older and have had your learner permit for at least 6 months, you can schedule a driving test at the local DPS office. Don’t worry about passing the test. By the time you finish our Texas Parent Taught Driver Education Course, you’ll be well prepared to pass it. Once you successfully pass the test, you’ll receive your driver license. Congratulations!

Leave your comment